islands – part (i)

by ty

AN: Idk but i planned this to go on for quite a long story so so Idk i thought i’d put this up first because i get impatient hahaahhaahahah what idk how but yeah i’ll go on yes :) byebye enjoy this and and if its bad tell me so i can stop lol LOL JK but ya hope you liek it ehhe

“Don’t you want an island, young man? I’m selling it to kind souls who pass by, for perhaps a little spare change in your pocket,” a husky voice rang out,” Perhaps a dollar would suffice for such a gentleman.” Within the absurd nature of this statement, I would admit it sounded tempting. A tad too tempting however? The dubious little offer left me to sink in my doubts for a few moments before thinking of a proper answer to the eager glimmer in his chesnut eyes.

He was the same old man who sat saddled over the grey railings overlooking the cliff on the edge of the road down the mountain. Of course I lived up in a cozy little apartment docked up above the hectares of greenery and a two hour drive down the bumpy road full of sharp turns was a childs play. It reminded me of the first time I drove up with my poor companion left to scream and complain and even well throw up into my prized bag; the only one I had in the car unfortunately. I saw this same old man in a brown bowl hat which compressed his white hair slightly into a neat bun at the back of his head as he smoked from a really old yet beautiful pipe. He would swing his legs back and forth precariously over the cliff, even if it had been raining, he would be seen with umbrellas which were occasionally of a bright hue of peach. Many people of course spoke of him with hostility as they saw him as no one but a random old man who with a few loose screws in his rounded head who would be there looking over the foggy island by dawn and leave by dusk. Nothing changed, at least until the day he approached me. I never saw him spoke, neither did I see him leave his perch. No one did, because nobody cared to, neither did anyone go through the paths during the night because of the dangers one would face, its too easy for a car to slide down into the rough sea below. Yet this sunny morning he got up and approached me, and for once I heard his voice.

“So young man, stop staring into space like a hawk looking at its prey – is my offer really that tempting?” He spoke while biting his pipe between his teeth as he motioned towards me.

“Well, maybe but what is this island you speak of?” I looked at the foggy mountain behind him and pretty much guessed that was it. He turned and nodded, confirming my little conjecture. It had been a pretty magnificent island, looking beautiful above the waves of fog. The mystery had been, however what was on this very island, and why it belonged to this old man. Passersby of the city above always talked about this island hushed, and quiet. For a peculiar reason the mention of the island was enough to have people keeping their volumes down as they drank their champagne awkwardly in moments of silence, it had been some sort of taboo I supposed.

“Why are you selling it? It’s a good catch.”

“Tired, old and frail, not much of a strong body to keep up this close watch. You see people long to go there, though they build up cement walls showing their disinterest; It’s the curiosity that lures them into the very shores of my darling and they never really enjoy their stay. I decided being a guard would be good, to make sure my baby isn’t up to no good but it gets a little taxing on a seventy old man who has slight problems with his poor knees.” He shrugged as he took his pipe out of his mouth and smiled.

“Well, it sounds like one mysterious island indeed. But what do I do if I decide I don’t want it if I buy it, or perhaps would you have the time to bring me on a little tour around your spectacular treasure and I would give it some thought?” I watched as he got up from his perch and barely picked up his wooden stick on the wet grass before hobbling over slowly.

“No can do, I’m not keen on going back on that island, not when its given me some whole truckload of problems son. Take it whole or leave it that simple; but giving it up doesn’t sound good for you does it?” He chuckled and leant against my car as he continued overlooking the island, “I haven’t got all day.”

His sonorous cadences echoed in my fluttering mind; It was worth a go.

“Sure.”

I arrived at the shores a tad bit too early the next morning. I loitered about while the loose change grew heavy in my sweaty palms. Roughly five minutes down the wait the familiar plump man came into my sight on the far end of the white beauty. He wore a knit jumper beneath the wood finish of his duffel coat with his pipe lodged in his mouth.

“There’s the boat you can use. It’s a little old and perhaps might bring a slight odour to it but you’ll get used to it I promise. Finally I’m free. Enjoy its company.” When the handover was complete, I heaved an awkwardly long sigh. It was peculiar, the feeling of having to own an island which was undoubtedly a priceless beauty. My first impression clinched the island the honour of being close to a heaven-like presence touched up with the element of mystery you would find from watching the best of crime stories – it was indeed, as the old man had sad, a great treasure. Yet the notion of how the old man had referred to the island to have a life of its own was exactly the reason why I held back, pulling on the reigns of my thoughts despite the forming of visible blisters on my bare hands. Somehow however I felt skeptical and decided that what lived or well what was on that island wouldn’t be too much to handle – afterall what was too hard. At most it would be a fusion of bloodshot eyes staring at you from corner to corner and tinges of little jumpscares, it would not be too bad, I supposed. The slight swaying of the boat was soothing. I stared at the rusty hooks and the browned ropes that lay in the old green boat which seemed far tattered yet the seemingly bluish sand across the metres of water across beckoned, pretty violently. I stepped into the boat and hoped I didn’t regret my decision as I turned back to see the old man smirk as he left his usual perch.

